PGI logo cropped.png
Congressional Millionaire’s Club
The Personal Gain Index shines a light on how members of Congress benefit during their tenure.





2008 Primary Elections Calendar

From Ballotpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Following is a tentative schedule of 2008 presidential primaries and caucuses, by date. Remember that some of these may still be subject to change.


January

Thursday, January 3, 2008:

Saturday, January 5, 2008:

Tuesday, January 8, 2008:

Tuesday, January 15, 2008:

Saturday, January 19, 2008:

Tuesday, January 29, 2008:

February

Saturday, February 2, 2008:

  • Maine Republican caucus

Tuesday, February 5, 2008:

Saturday, February 9, 2008:

Sunday, February 10, 2008:

  • Maine Democratic caucus

Tuesday, February 12, 2008:

Tuesday, February 19, 2008:

Monday, February 25, 2008:

March

Tuesday, March 4, 2008:

Saturday, March 8, 2008:

Tuesday, March 11, 2008:

April

Tuesday, April 1, 2008:

Tuesday, April 22, 2008:

May

Tuesday, May 6, 2008:

Tuesday, May 13, 2008:

Tuesday, May 20, 2008:

Tuesday, May 27, 2008:

June

Tuesday, June 3, 2008:


Footnotes

  1. Iowa state law requires that Iowa's caucuses be held one week prior to New Hampshire's primaries, which effectively requires that Iowa be first in the nation, due to New Hampshire's state primary law (see footnote 5)
  2. http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D8RAPI500&show_article=1&catnum=3
  3. New Hampshire state law requires that it have the first primaries of the season. Traditionally, the only state to come before them has been Iowa, which requires that its caucuses be held one week before New Hampshire's primaries.
  4. DNC rules have traditionally dictated that no state may hold their primaries or caucuses before February 5, with the exceptions of Iowa and New Hampshire. However, early this year, they decided that by selecting certain swing states that they think they can win in to move up on the calendar, so that they can try to get a couple important victories under their belts before February 5th ("National Primary Day") they would be able to significantly improve their chances of victory. They decided on Michigan and Nevada to go between Iowa and New Hampshire, and South Carolina to go between New Hampshire and National Primary Day.
  5. South Carolina Republicans have always held their primary on the same day as the Democrats, including by moving up to Tuesday, January 29th, when the DNC set that as the date for South Carolina's Democratic primary. However, Florida Democrats thought they had been left in the dust by the DNC when South Carolina was moved a week ahead of them, as they felt they were a far more important state to the national Democratic cause than South Carolina, and a far better representative of the South than South Carolina to be moved forward and set the tone for the rest of the primary season. So they disobeyed the rules of the DNC and set their state's primary for the same day that South Carolina had been moved to. South Carolina Republicans wanted to keep the advantage over Florida that they'd been given, so they jumped up 10 days more.
  6. (See footnote 4)
  7. Kansas law allows for a primary to be held the first Tuesday in April; however, Kansas has not held a primary since 1992, and the legislature has again this year voted not to hold or fund a primary.


External links