Colorado Marriage Education Act (2014)

From Ballotpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Voting on
Marriage and Family
Wedding rings.jpg
Ballot Measures
By state
By year
Not on ballot
The Colorado Marriage Education Act may appear on the November 4, 2014 ballot in the state of Colorado as an initiated state statute. If approved by voters, the measure would require mandatory, pre-wedding classes for couples wanting to get married. The length of the classes is based on how many times a person has been married. If it is a first marriage for both, the required class would be 10 hours. If the wedding is a second marriage for either the bride or groom, the number of required hours goes up to 20. If it is someone's third marriage, 30 hours worth of classes would be required. The law would not apply to civil unions.[1]


David Schel and Sharon Tekolian of the group "Kids Against Divorce" are sponsoring the measure. They explained the purpose of the measure is to "better prepare individuals going into marriage to fulfill their new roles as spouse and potentially as parent, to furthermore protect children given that marriage is the foundation of a family unit."[1]

Path to the ballot

See also: Laws governing the initiative process in Colorado

In Colorado, supporters must obtain at least 86,105 valid signatures by August 4, 2014 in order to place a measure on the ballot, regardless of whether the measure is an initiated constitutional amendment or an initiated state statute.

See also

BallotpediaAvatar bigger.png
Suggest a link


BallotMeasureFinal badge.png
This state ballot measure article is a stub. You can help people learn by expanding it.