Missouri minimum wage set for 2012, initiative proposed
Currently, the state's law allows for an automatic adjustment of the minimum wage based on a cost of living analysis.
The proposed measure, calls for raising the state's minimum wage to $8.25 an hour effective January 1, 2013 with an adjustment for inflation in future years. Additionally, the measure calls for an increase of penalties for businesses that do not pay the minimum wage.
But this isn't the first time such a measure has appeared on the Missouri ballot. Most recently, in 2006 voters approved raising the minimum wage to $6.50 per hour and allowed for an automatic adjustment. Previously, in 1996 voters defeated a proposal to require employers to pay a minimum hourly wage of no less than $6.25 per hour. Additionally, the measure called for a $6.50 wage by January 1998, %6.75 by January 1999 and beginning January 2000 an additional 15 cents per year.
|Propositions •||Recall||• Law|