Nevada Marijuana Initiative, Question 7 (2006)

From Ballotpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Voting on Marijuana
Marijuana Leaf-smaller.gif
Ballot Measures
By state
By year
Not on ballot

The Nevada Marijuana Initiative, also known as Question 7, was an initiated state statute on the November 7, 2006 ballot in Nevada, where it was defeated.

Election results

Question 7 (Marijuana Initiative)
Defeatedd No321,91355.92%
Yes 253,725 44.08%

Official results via: Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau - Research Division

Text of measure

The question as it appeared on the ballot:

Shall Titles 32, 40 and 43 of the Nevada Revised Statutes be amended in order to allow and regulate the sale, use and possession of one ounce or less of marijuana by persons at least 21 years of age, impose licensing requirements on marijuana retailers and wholesalers, allow for the sale of marijuana by licensed marijuana retailers and wholesalers, impose taxes and restrictions on the wholesale and retail sale of marijuana, and to increase the criminal penalties for causing death or substantial bodily harm when driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol?[1]

The language that appeared in the voter's guide:

The proposed amendments, if passed, would make various changes to Nevada law with respect to the possession and use of certain amounts of marijuana. The amendments would allow persons at least 21 years of age to purchase, possess, use and transport up to one ounce of marijuana.
The amendments would also require that marijuana retailers and wholesalers be licensed by the Nevada Department of Taxation. The amendments would subject the wholesale sale of marijuana to an excise tax, and would subject the retail sale of marijuana to the existing sales tax. The financial impact of license fees and excise taxes is further described in the Fiscal Note. After a deduction to defray the cost of tax collection, fifty percent of the tax revenue from the sale of marijuana would be used to fund voluntary programs for the prevention and treatment of the abuse of alcohol, tobacco, or controlled substances, and the other fifty percent would go to the state general fund.
Under the amendments, the following activities would continue to be unlawful: operation of vehicles and vessels under the influence of marijuana; possession a firearm while under the influence of marijuana; possession of marijuana by a prisoner; and possession of marijuana in a public place, correctional facility, or school. The proposed amendments would increase the maximum prison terms and fines for violations of NRS 484.3795 (death or substantial bodily harm from driving under the influence) from 20 to 40 years imprisonment and from $5,000 to $10,000 in fines. The proposed amendments would also make it a class B felony for a person over 21 to sell or give marijuana to a minor. The proposed amendments would have no affect on federal laws that prohibit the sale, possession, use and transport of marijuana.[1]

See also

Suggest a link

External links