Help:Blocking users

From Ballotpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Editing Help
1328101905 Help.png
Index
Editing guide
Cheatsheet
Policies
Copyright
Textual standards
Visual standards
Glossary of terms
Edit review process

This page explains how to block users. This page only reviews the technical information you need to know if you are going to block a user.

Ballotpedia's blocking policy explains when or why a user may be blocked.

Who can block a user?

To block another user, you must have administrator privileges or above.

Steps to take

Step 1

Look on the history tab of an article that the to-be-blocked user has edited to find a line that looks like this, and click on the word block:

User chosen for blocking.PNG

Step 2

Once you have clicked on the word "block," you will be taken to a blocking form that looks like this:

Block menu.PNG

Step 3

Click the dropdown menu by the word "expiry" and select the amount of time you wish this user to be blocked:

Expiry.PNG

Step 4

Click the dropdown menu by the word "reason" and select the option that describes why you are blocking this user:

Reason.PNG

Step 5

Check the box that says "prevent account creation". Do not check any other boxes.

Prevent account creation.PNG

Step 6

Finally, click on the button that says "block this user":

Block this user.PNG

See also